Parashat Va-etḥanan /Shabbat Nahamu

View Print Bulletin

Parashat Va-etḥanan /Shabbat Nahamu

16 Av 5779 / August 17, 2019
Triennial Cycle III: Deut. 5:1-7:11
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 1015
Haftarah: Isaiah 40:1-26, page 1033

  1. (5:1-18) A recapitulation of the Ten Commandments.
  2. (5:19-30) Moses reminds the people of how they begged him in terror to bring them the rest of God’s words.
  3. (6:1-3) A warning regarding the observance of the Mitzvot.
  4. (6:4-9) The Shema.
  5. 6:10-25) An exhortation to keep the words of the Torah coupled with a reminder of all the good things God has done for His people.

UPCOMMING

Friday, August 16
Shabbat @ Home

Saturday, August 17
Mishna Class
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 18
Shredding Event
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 21
Board of Directors Meeting – View Agenda
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 22
Dames Who Dine
6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Friday, August 23
BBQ and Barchu – Featuring musician Lior Ben-Hur
RSVP extended to 8/19

Sunday, August 25
Beth David Parking Lot Clean Up
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 25
Hazak Movie Night – RSVP by 8/21
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, August 29
Blood Drive at CBD
3:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 1
Siyum – Menachot (meal offerings) 
10:15 – 11:!5 a.m.

Tuesday, September 3
Chess Club Planning Meeting
11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Friday, September 6 &
Saturday, September 7

Join USCJ Board of Directors Shabbaton

Sunday, September 8
ELI Talks – Videos – Discussion and Brunch
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

SAVE THE DATES
Thursday, September 19

Israeli Movie Night – “Shtisel”
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 22
Epigenetics in Development and Disease
10:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 10
Mah Jongg
9:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

COMMUNITY

Saturday, August 17, 9:00 p.m. – Sun, Aug 18, 2:00 a.m.
Tu B’Av Celebration for Young Adults (20s & 30s)
Featuring a catered Taco Bar, Music by DJ Niro, party games, and a special appearance by world famous hip hop dancer, Moesha. Ticket includes tacos and one free drink ticket. $20.00 in advance and $25.00 at the door. More info

August 17, 10:00 am – 1:00 p.m.
Youth Empowerment Climate Dance Youth spreading awareness about the reality of climate change and what individuals can do about it! See Facebook page

Sunday, August 18th
Silicon Valley Holocaust Survivors Association brunch
10:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Kibbutz Lotan’s Center for Creative Ecology provides a 30 day Green Apprenticeship program. More information

On Going in the Community
Know someone with a new addition to the family?
Shalom Baby has special gifts to welcome newborns into our Jewish community! If you or someone you know has had a baby in the last 6 months, let PJ Library know and we will arrange a special goody-filled delivery. Click here to get started

Become a JFS Friendly Visitor – Make A Real Difference in the Life of An Isolated Senior More information

You are not alone! Mental Health Family Support Group
Second Monday of month, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m at Levy Family Campus More information

Grandparents Support Group
View Flyer

Previous post:

Next post: