Parashat Ekev

Parashat Ekev

23 Av, 5779/August 24, 2019
Triennial Cycle Year III: Deut. 10:12-11:25
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 1048
Haftarah: Isaiah 49:14-51:3, page 1055

View Print Bulletin

ANNOUNCEMENTS

School Registration Now Open! – Come to a Movie Meet and Greet with Rabbi Petersohn on 9/8

Holiday Connect Packages for Young Adults 
Registration for young adult children or grandchildren in the CBD Women’s Holiday Connect holiday package program is now open. More information

High Holy Day Guest Tickets
Submit your request before 9/18 to have your guest tickets waiting at Will CallClick here

Are you traveling during the High Holy Days?
If you’re traveling during the High Holy Days and would like to attend services at another synagogue, we can submit a Reciprocity request for tickets on your behalf. Call the office at 408-257-3333 or email and be prepared with the name and address of the synagogue you would like to visit.

Ushers Needed for High Holy Days Services
Click Here

Lulav and Etrog Order Deadline September 13 More information

HoneyGrams Order Deadline September 15 More information

Tikkun Olam
See how you can help make a difference in our community click here 

Volunteers Needed
Project Isaiah – High Holy Days Food Drive Bag Preparation
September 10, 6:00 p.m. at Beth David
Bags will be passed out at the end of Rosh Hashanah Services.

Join the Tikkun Olam TeamIf you are interested in Social Action, join the Tikkun Olam Team! Email to get on our mailing list.

Upcoming

Thursday, August 22
Dames Who Dine
6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Friday, August 23
BBQ and Barchu – Featuring musician Lior Ben-Hur
RSVP for dinner is closed. Please bring a canned food donation for food drive

Sunday, August 25
Beth David Parking Lot Clean Up
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 25
Hazak Movie Night – walk-ins welcome
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, August 29
Blood Drive at CBD
3:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 1
Siyum – Menachot (meal offerings) 
10:15 – 11:15 a.m.

Tuesday, September 3
Chess Club Planning Meeting
11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Friday, September 6 &
Saturday, September 7

Join USCJ Board of Directors Shabbaton

Saturday, September 7
Parashah Yoga led by Rabbi Matzkin
9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Sunday, September 8
Threads of Tradition
10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 8
Movie Meet and Greet with Rabbi Petersohn
2:30 – 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 8
ELI Talks – Videos – Discussion and Brunch
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 12
Ladies Who Lunch
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 14
Jewish Book Discussion Group
after lunch, approx 12:45 p.m.

Thursday, September 19
Israeli Movie Night – “Shtisel”
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 21
Selichot – Ethical Will Writing Workshop 
8:00 p.m. Havdalah 
8:15 p.m. Workshop
9:45 p.m..Services 

Sunday, September 22
Epigenetics in Development and Disease
10:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 10
Mah Jongg
9:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Previous post:

Next post: