Parashat Bo – January 16, 2016

Parashat Bo January 16, 2016

Candle Lighting Friday, January 15th 4:56 p.m.

Parashat Bo

6 Shevat, 5776 / January 16, 2016
Triennial Cycle III: Exodus 12:29-13:16
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 387
Haftarah: Jeremiah 46:13-28, page 395

  1. (12:29-36) The first-born of Egypt all die, and the Egyptians capitulate. The Israelites prepare to leave.
  2. (12:37-42) The Israelites leave Egypt.
  3. (12:43-13:10) The laws of the Paschal lamb sacrifice for future generations, the dedication to God of the firstborn, and further details concerning the observance of Passover.
  4. (13:11-16) Laws concerning redemption of the first-born, the telling of the Passover story, and the tefillin.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Administration Office will be closed Monday, January 18th in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Drivers Needed

Pastoral Care

Calling all USY Alumni

REMINDER: Please refrain from using cell phones, cameras and other electronic devices on Shabbat.

UPCOMING EVENTS & SERVICES

Friday, January 15: PJ Shabbat – 6:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 16: Netivot Haneshama – A Learning Minyan 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 16: Women’s League Shabbat – 9:30 a.m.

Saturday, January 16: CBD Jewish Artist Group – 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 17: USY Mini-Mission-Mitzvah – 7:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 17: Ending Human Trafficking: Cultural Approaches – 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, January 19: Yiddish Conversation Group – 3:00 – 4:40 p.m.

Wednesday, January 20: JET Dinner & Learn – 6:15 – 7:30 p.m.

Friday, January 22: Talmud Study – 10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Friday, January 22: Jewish Ethics Discussion – 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m

Saturday, January 23: Communal Tu B’Shevat Seders – 11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

Sunday, January 24: JCore: Tzedakah Day – 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Wednesday, January 27: 2016 Purim Shpiel Information Meeting – 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, January 27: CBD General Board Meeting – 7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Friday, January 29: Hazak Cantorial Shabbat – 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 30: A Jewish Journey: From Colombia to Hillel – 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 30: SAUSY Progressive Dinner – 6:15 – 10:00 p.m

Friday, February 5: TGI shabbat – A Trip to Israel – services at 6:30 p.m. and dinner at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 6: Hot topics in Halakhah Today – 1:30 – 2:30 p.m.

COMMUNITY EVENTS

Sunday, January 31: Jewbilee 1:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Monday, February 9: Mental Health Support Group

Previous post:

Next post: