Parshat B’reishit

View/Print Bulletin

Candle lighting Friday, October 13, 6:17 p.m.

SERVICES
Friday Evening 6:30pm
Shabbat Morning 9:30am 

Parshat B’reishit

24 Tishrei, 5778/October 14, 2017
Triennial Cycle Year II: Genesis 2:4-4:26
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 12
Haftarah: Isaiah 42:5-43:10, page 36

  1. (2:4-25) Another version of Creation. Adam and Eve are placed in the Garden of Eden “to till it and to tend it.”
  2. (3:1-24) The woman listens to the snake, eats of the forbidden fruit, and persuades the man also to eat of it. All are punished. Adam and Eve are expelled from the Garden of Eden.
  3. (4:1-15) The story of Cain and Abel.
  4. (4:17-24) The descendants of Cain. The taunting song of Lamech.
  5. (4:25-26) Seth, Adam and Eve’s third son, and his son Enosh.
Wednesday, October 11

Hosha’na Rabbah Service
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 12
Shmini Atzeret Services  – Yizkor
9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 12
Simchat Torah Young Families Celebration
5:30 – 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 12
Erev Simchat Torah Service
6:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Friday, October 13
Simchat Torah Service
9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 14
Netivot Haneshamah: Stretching into Shabbat & Learning for Russian Speakers 
10:30 – 11: 30 a.m.

Saturday, October 14
Tot Shabbat
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m

Saturday, October 14
Jewish Book Discussion Group
1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 15
Men’s Club Meeting
9:30 – 10:30 a.m.

Sunday, October 15
Jewish cub Scouts Pack 504 Meeting 
1:30 – 3:30 a.m.

Sunday, October 15
Hazak Presents: Larry Gerston
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 17
Yiddish Conversation Group
3:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Tuesday, October 17
Dames Who Dine
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 19
Israel Coffee Klatch
2:00 – 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 21
Israel Today! Shabbat Seminars
1:15 – 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 22
AAi Cook and Serve
1:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 22 & 29
Hebrew Marathon
1:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, October 24
Basic Conversational Hebrew for Beginners
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 25
CBD Board Meeting
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 26
The History of Modern Israel from 1948 to Now! 
7:30 – 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 28
Netivot Haneshamah: Approachable Torah
10:30 – 11:45 a.m.

Saturday, October 28
CBD Jewish Artists Group
After lunch, approx 1:15 p.m.

Sunday, October 29
Adult Academy
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Sunday, October 29
Neighbors in Faith Community Picnic
12:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, November 4
Netivot Haneshamah: Mindfulness and Meditation Through the Hasidic Lens
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, November 4
Our Mercaz: Holy People/Holy Lives
1:15 – 2:15 p.m.

Tuesday, November 7
Chutzpah & High Heels: The Search for Love and Identity in the Holy Land 
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 9
Ladies Who Lunch
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, November 11
CBD @ Homes Hors D’oeuvres & Dessert
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 14
Men’s Club Beer with the Boys
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Sunday, November 19
Carvalho’s Journey – Documentary Film
7:00 – 9:00 p.m

ANNOUNCEMENTS
Administration Office Closures:
Thursday 10/12; Friday 10/13

No Minyan
Wednesday, 10/11; Thursday. 10/12

Dessert and Dish with CBD Women
This event, originally scheduled for October 19th has been cancelled.

Winter Coat Drive
Soon we will be launching our annual winter coat drive.

Community 
Wednesday, October 18
Breast Cancer Awareness 

Monday, November 13
Never is Now 

Through November 5
The Obligation

Become a JFS Friendly Visitor — Make A Real Difference in the Life of An Isolated Senior!
More information

You are not alone! Mental Health Family Support Group
Second Monday of month, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m at Levy Family Campus,
More information
The Abayudaya Jewish Community in Uganda needs your assistance
More information

Grandparents Support Group
View Flyer

 

 

Previous post:

Next post: