Parashat Va-era

View Print bulletin

Parashat Bo

6 Shevat, 5779 / January 12, 2019
Triennial Cycle III: Exodus 12:29-13:16
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 387
Haftarah:  Jeremiah 46:13-28, page 395

  1. (8:16-28) The Fourth Plague: Beasts.
  2. (9:1-7) The Fifth Plague: a disease affecting all the livestock of Egypt, but sparing the Israelites’ animals.
  3. (9:8-15) The Sixth Plague: Boils on man and beast.
  4. (9:16-21) Moses confronts Pharaoh and renews God’s demand: “Let My people go to worship me!” Moses warns Pharaoh and the court about the Seventh Plague, Hail, which destroys crops (except those in Goshen).
  5. (9:22-35) Pharaoh sends for Moses and Aaron and begs for relief. However, once the hail stops, he reneges on his promise.

Candle lighting Friday, January 11, 4:53 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Balk Family Memorial Camp Scholarship – deadline to apply is January 18
Library News 

UPCOMING

Saturday, January 5
Mindfulness and Mediation Through the Hasidic Lens
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, January 5
Jewish Book Discussion Group
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 6
Yoga for the Soul – for teens and adults 
9:34 a.m. – 10:45 a.m..

Tuesday, January 8
Modern Hebrew – Intermediate 
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 10
Ladies Who Lunch
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 10
Modern History of Israel
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m

Thursday, January 10
Modern Hebrew – Beginner
1:00 – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 11
Stretching into Shabbat
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Saturday, January 11
An Exploration of Shabbat Prayer and Study in Russian 
10:30 – 11:45 a.m.

Friday through Sunday, January 11 – 13
Scholar-in-Residence dinner RSVP deadline is 1/4

Saturday, January 12
Tot Shabbat
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 13
Jewbille at APJCC
1:00 – 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, January 13
Purim Shpiel Auditions
6:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, January 15
Yiddish Conversation Group
3:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, January 16
Parlor Meeting Discussion: Musical Instruments & Friday Night Services
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

January 19
CBD Women’s Shabbat sign up to participate 
9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 19
Israel Today Discussion
after lunch, approx. 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 20
Bocce with the Boys
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 20
Hazak Movie Night
Ahead of Time: The Extraordinary Journey of Ruth Gruber
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 24
Dames Who Dine
7:00 – 9:00 p.m

Saturday, January 26
Approachable Torah with Rabbi Berkowitz
10:15 – 11:30 a.m.

Sunday, January 27
Mitzvah Day
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Tuesday, January 29
A Cantor’s Concert Featuring the Works of Leonard Bernstein
7:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 2
Mindfulness and Mediation Through the Hasidic Lens
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, February 2
Menschlichkeit 101
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 3
World Wide Wrap
9:00 – 9:30 a.m.

Sunday, February 3
CBD Superbowl Pizza Party
3:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, February 6
CBD Women Movie and Discussion Group
11:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Friday, February 8
Young Families Kabbalat (Welcoming) Shabbat & Dinner
5:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 9
Jewish Book Discussion Group
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 9
Family Havdalah & Movie Night
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 10
CBD’s Mah Jongg Tournament
9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 10
Neshama Body and Soul
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Jewbilee Day of Jewish Learning at the JCC in Los Gatos
Sunday, January 13, from 1:00-6:30pm

Tu B’Shvat Plant Nite for Ages 21-35 at Stilettos Wine Bar in Saratoga
Thursday, January 17,  7:00 – 9:00 pm

FOR TEENS – Club Z – More info about Club Z
Youth Zionist Leadership Forum (Annual Conference) – View Flyer 
January 18 – 21, 2019

Obstacles & Opportunities at Congregation Beth Am
Tuesday, January 29, 7:00pm

A Cantor’s Concert Featuring the Works of Leonard Bernstein at Shir Hadash – View Flyer
Tuesday, January 29, 7:00pm 

Ongoing
Volunteer Needs at Jewish Family Services – help others in our community
More information

You are not alone! Mental Health Family Support Group
Second Monday of month, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m at Levy Family Campus
More information

Grandparents Support Group
View Flyer

Previous post:

Next post: