Parashat Shemot

View Print Bulletin

Parashat Shemot

23 Tevet, 5779 / December 29, 2018
Triennial Cycle III: Exodus 4:18-6:1
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 335
Haftarah:  Isaiah 27:6-28:13; 29:22-23, page 342

  1. (4:18-23) Further instructions from God to Moses.
  2. (4:24-26)A peculiar incident during the journey to Egypt: Zipporah, Moses’ wife, circumcises their son to ward off danger to Moses.
  3. (4:27-31) God sends Aaron to meet Moses, and together they convince the people that God has sent them.
  4. (5:1-6:1) Moses and Aaron’s first confrontation with Pharaoh fails. Pharaoh retaliates by oppressing the Israelites even more harshly. The Israelites blame Moses and Aaron for making their plight worse. Moses complains to God, who reassures him, You will soon see what I will do to Pharaoh.

Candle lighting Friday, December 28, 4:41 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Photos needed 
Purim Shpiel Auditions Sunday January 13th

UPCOMING

Wednesday, January 2
CBD Women Movie and Discussion Group
11:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 5
Mindfulness and Mediation Through the Hasidic Lens
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, January 5
Jewish Book Discussion Group
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 6
Yoga for the Soul – for teens and adults 
9:34 a.m. – 10:45 a.m..

Tuesday, January 8
Modern Hebrew – Intermediate 
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 10
Ladies Who Lunch
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 10
Modern History of Israel
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m

Thursday, January 10
Modern Hebrew – Beginner
1:00 – 12:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 11
Stretching into Shabbat
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Saturday, January 11
An Exploration of Shabbat Prayer and Study in Russian 
10:30 – 11:45 a.m.

Friday through Sunday, January 11 – 13
Scholar-in-Residence dinner RSVP deadline is 1/4\

Saturday, January 12
Tot Shabbat
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 13
Jewbille at APJCC
1:00 – 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, January 13
Purim Shpiel Auditions
6:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, January 15
Yiddish Conversation Group
3:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, January 16
Parlor Meeting Discussion: Musical Instruments & Friday Night Services
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

January 19
CBD Women’s Shabbat sign up to participate 
9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 19
Israel Today Discussion
after lunch, approx. 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 20
Bocce with the Boys
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 20
Hazak Movie Night
Ahead of Time: The Extraordinary Journey of Ruth Gruber
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 24
Dames Who Dine
7:00 – 9:00 p.m

Saturday, January 26
Approachable Torah with Rabbi Berkowitz
10:15 – 11:30 a.m.

Sunday, January 27
Mitzvah Day
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

COMMUNITY
Jewbilee Day of Jewish Learning at the JCC in Los Gatos
Sunday, January 13, from 1:00-6:30pm

Tu B’Shvat Plant Nite for Ages 21-35 at Stilettos Wine Bar in Saratoga
Thursday, January 17,  7:00 – 9:00 pm

FOR TEENS – Club Z – More info about Club Z
Youth Zionist Leadership Forum (Annual Conference) – View Flyer
January 18 – 21, 2019

Ongoing
Volunteer Needs at Jewish Family Services – help others in our community
More information

You are not alone! Mental Health Family Support Group
Second Monday of month, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m at Levy Family Campus
More information
Grandparents Support Group
View Flyer

 

Previous post:

Next post: