Parashat Ki Tissa

Parashat Ki Tissa

View Print Bulletin

18 Adar I, 5779/ February 23, 2019
Triennial Cycle III: Exodus 33:12-34:35
Ḥumash Etz Ḥayim, page 538
Haftarah: 1 Kings 18:1-39 pg 547

1.  (33:12-23) Moses pleads to be able to see God, but that request is denied, for a “human may not see Me and live”. God does promise that Moses will be able to see His “back,” i.e., have an indirect manifestation of His presence.

2.  (34:1-9) Moses returns to Mt. Sinai for the third time and receives the revelation concerning God’s Thirteen Attributes.

3.  (34:10-26) The renewal of the covenant between God and Israel, with further instructions concerning the keeping of the mitzvot.

4.  (34:27-28) After 40 days, Moses receives the second set of Tablets.

ANNOUNCEMENTS
Silent Auction
Flea Market 
Hamantaschen for Sale 
Mishloah Manot

UPCOMING

Saturday, February 23
Approachable Torah with Rabbi Berkowitz
10:15 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, February 23
Tot Shabbat
11:00 a.m. – 11:45 p.m.

Saturday, February 23
Israel Today Discussion
after lunch, approx. 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, February 23
Zip Code Evening  – RSVP closed
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 24
Return of the Olomouc Torah
10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 

Sunday, February 24
AAi Schmooze and Serve Event 
1:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Tuesday, February 26
Modern Hebrew – Intermediate 
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, February 27
CBD General Board Meeting
7:30 – 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 28
Modern History of Israel  
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m

Thursday, February 28
Modern Hebrew – Beginner
1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, February 28
Dames Who Dine
7:00 – 9:00 p.m

Friday, March 1
BBYO Sushi Shabbat 
6:30 – 10:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 2
Mindfulness and Meditation Through the Hasidic Lens
10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, March 2
Menschlichkeit 101
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 3
Spaghetti FUN-raiser Dinner
5:00 – 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, March 6
CBD Women Movie and Discussion Group
11:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 7
Blood Drive
3:30 – 7:30 p.m.

Friday – Saturday, March 8-10
North by Northwest Regional Spring Conference

Saturday, March 9
Parashah Yoga 
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Saturday, March 9
An Exploration of Shabbat Prayer and Study in Russian 
10:30 – 11:45 a.m

Saturday, March 9
Jewish Book Discussion Group
After lunch, approx 1:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 10
Threads of Tradition
10:15 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 14
Ladies Who Lunch 
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 14
Myths and Facts About Israel 
7:30 – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 17
Neshama Body and Soul
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.

Sunday, March 17
Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel’s Life 
10:15 a.m.  – 12:00 p.m.

Wednesday, March 20
Erev Purim Activities

Sunday, March 24
Purim Carnival with IAC

Sunday, March 31
Yoga for the Soul
9:45 – 10:45 a.m.

Community
Jewish Heritage Night at the San Jose Sharks – March 7
View Flyer

JCC Maccabi Games 2019 in Atlanta – for Teens

Ongoing
Become a JFS Friendly Visitor – Make A Real Difference in the Life of An Isolated Senior
More information

You are not alone! Mental Health Family Support Group
Second Monday of month, 7:00 – 8:30 p.m at Levy Family Campus
More information

Grandparents Support Group
View Flyer

Previous post:

Next post: